Log in


PSA 2023 Awards

Social Conscience Award: Wa Na Wari

Distinguished Contribution to Sociological Perspectives Award: Rocio R. Garcia (Arizona State University), “’We’re Not All Anti-Choices’: How Controlling Images Shape Latina/x Feminist Abortion Advocacy” (65:6, December 2022)

Dean S. Dorn Distinguished Contributions to Teaching Award: Miriam Abelson (Portland State University)

Early Career Award for Innovation in Teaching Sociology: Dinur Blum (CSU Los Angeles)

Distinguished Scholarship Award: Nadia Y. Kim (Loyola Marymount University) for Refusing Death: Immigrant Women and the Fight for Environmental Justice in LA (Stanford University Press, 2021)

Distinguished Undergraduate Student Paper (Honorable Mention): Ariel Segura (Portland State University) for “Motivations for a Green, Just, and Connected World: Analyzing Narratives of Young Environmental Activists in the Pacific Northwest”

Distinguished Graduate Student Paper: Kennedy Chi-Pan Wong (University of Southern California) for “Cross-national Alliance against Authoritarianism: Mapping ‘Our’ Struggles to the Broader World”

2021-2022 Awards Committee Members:
Suzel Bozada-Deas, Sonoma State University,  Co-Chair
Minjeong Kim, San Diego State University, Co-Chair
Hernan Ramirez, College of the Canyons
beginning 2022 awards cycle:
Amy Lubitow, Portland State University
Chioun Lee, University of California Riverside
Michael Cope, Brigham Young University

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software