California Sociological Association: Call for Papers, Sessions (by Oct.1, 2021 for November conference)

Call for Papers

Call for Sessions

Call for Student Award Nominees

CSA 2021

Annual meeting

Location: Online via Zoom

Date: Nov 12-13, 2021

Theme:: Challenging Multiple Pandemics

Keynote Address: The Global Police State and the Challenge of Radical Sociology by William I. Robinson

This year’s CSA conference will be virtual, taking place synchronously with live zoom presentations and audience. We are again reducing the conference registration fees by 50%. In order to appear on the program, all organizers and presenters must pre-register by October 23, 2021.

Call for papers

Email your paper abstract to one of the session organizer from the list below.

Organizer Name

Organizer Email

Session Title

Mohamed Abumaye

mabumaye@csusm.edu

Black Diasporas

Lori Walkington

lwalking@csusm.edu

Women and the Carceral State

Xuan Santos

xsantos@csusm.edu

Prison to School Pipeline

Xuan Santos

xsantos@csusm.edu

Student Panel: Formerly Incarcerated and Justice Impacted Student Life

Marisa Salinas

Msalinas@csusm.edu

Chicanisma in the Academic Trenches: Incorporating a Chicana Working Class Consciousness.

Alicia Gonzalez

amgonzal@csusm.edu

Graduate Student Session on Critical Race Matters

Alicia Gonzalez

amgonzal@csusm.edu

Current Issues on Latinx Research

Heidy Sarabia

heidy.sarabia@csus.edu

Methodology: Feminist.Chicanx Standpoint Epistemology

Heidy Sarabia

heidy.sarabia@csus.edu

Sociology of Education: Educational Experiences Among Youth

Heidy Sarabia

heidy.sarabia@csus.edu

Sociology of Teaching: Pedagogy and Technology: Assessment Practices in the Changing Classroom

Heidy Sarabia

heidy.sarabia@csus.edu

Sociology of Migration: Living Under the Regime of Illegality

Jonathan Leif Basilio

jbasilio@csub.edu

Asian American Experience

Jonathan Leif Basilio

jbasilio@csub.edu

Diversity in Social Life

Stephanie D’Auria

stephanie.dauria@vanguard.edu

Experiential learning/service learning projects during and post covid.

Claudia Lopez

Claudia.lopez@csulb.edu

Critical Approaches to Student Success Assessment

Mario Espinoza-Kulick & Alex Espinoza-Kulick

Mario_espinozakulick@cuesta.edu

Culture and Community during the Pandemic

Amber Crowell

acrowell@csufresno.edu

Neighborhoods, Space, and Place

Elvia Ramirez

eramirez@csus.edu

Latinas in Higher Education

Stephen Morewitz

Stephen.morewitz@sjsu.edu

Crime and Delinquency

Stephen Morewitz

Stephen.morewitz@sjsu.edu

Sociology of Health and Illness, Health Policy, Illness, and Medical Sociology

Christopher Chase-Dunn & Arman Azedi

chriscd@ucr.eduaazedi@uci.edu

Global Social Change

Jimiliz M. Valiente-Neighbours

jvaliente@pointloma.edu

Environmental Sociology

Marilyn Grell-Brisk

mgrell@ucr.edu

Undergraduate Research: Challenging the Structures of Social Inequality

Shayna La Scala

slas001@ucr.edu,rbfirat@ucr.edu

Undergraduate Student Session

Maria Mora

Mmora4@csustan.edu

Undergraduate Student Research,

Oscar F. Soto

osoto@csusm.edu

Radical Sociology

If your paper does not fit any of the existing sessions, please send your paper to the program chair and president-elect Xuan Santos at the following address: calisoc2021@yahoo.com

Call for Sessions

There is room to add more sessions! All faculty and graduate students are welcome to submit a proposal to organize a session for the 2021 conference.

To propose your session, please contact the program chair and president-elect Xuan Santos at the following address: calisoc2021@yahoo.com

Themes for session topics should be broad and inclusive. Sample topics include “Social Inequality,” “Race and Ethnicity,” “Social Movements,” etc.  We also welcome proposals for special sessions such as “student sessions” for undergraduate presentations, poster sessions, author-meets-critic, and panel sessions on timely or controversial topics.

Session organizers are expected to actively solicit presenters for their session. In the call for papers, we ask presenters to send a presentation title and a one paragraph abstract to the session organizer. Because we welcome all submissions, session organizers are to forward any submission deemed incompatible for their session to the program chair, who will coordinate its placement.

We are again reducing the conference registration fees by 50%. In order to appear on the program, all organizers and presenters must pre-register by October 23, 2021.

Call for Student Award Nominees

Please consider submitting nominations for our student awards. We continue to sponsor a community college student award, an undergraduate student award, and a graduate student award. Winners receive a monetary gift and plaque, and will be announced at the awards ceremony during the virtual conference. See more details here https://cal-soc.org/awards/.

While we forego our in-person meeting, the CSA will continue our tradition of hosting high-quality presentations within a supportive atmosphere; we ask you to join us in making this year’s CSA conference a great success. CSA Flyer